The legacy servers are the old servers that we first had way back in 2015, they are older and run out of date software, no current Nodes you see on the panel are affected by this change.
Last year we labeled N1, N2, N3 and N4 as legacy servers as they run older software and an older OS version. As a result the sites on the servers have had a message in the panel telling users to clone to a new node, we are now giving a time frame.
June 2019 - Disable of Legacy in the dashboard
We are now not listing Legacy servers in the dashboard but you can still create one via the API.
July 2019 - No longer able to create containers
We will be disabling the creation of containers on N1-N4 for good. We will also be sending out the email alert to all users running sites on the nodes affected letting them know with info on how to move containers to new nodes.
September 2019 - Warning users
We will be giving users 30 days at this point to move all sites to a new node. This will also include a email with more info and or telling how to make sure the domain points and still works after the move.
October 2019 - Clone all the sites left and disable N1, N2, N3 and N4
We will be cloning all sites left over to a new location before taking the servers offline, we wont be checking that all sites in the move cloned over fully. We will be sending out a final email and holding on to backups for a few months after the event just incase.
How container clones will be forced
Once the container is cloned it will be moved to one of 1 or 2 servers as the new nodes are a lot faster and more powerful than the old legacy ones. Once the move is done the DNS values on our domain for the main record (n4.nodehost.ca for example) and the 2 NS record names will be pointed to the new location. This means if the domain is pointed using NS or CNAME it should still work once the move is done automatically. There will be a delay between clone and point of about 1 day so any site updates in that time will be lost after moving.